+49 7667 4269541 office@rhein-kultour-touristik.com
deen

Cologne: Roman History Self-Guided Audio Guide Walking Tour

0
Price
From€8.33

Buy Now

Save To Wish List

Adding item to wishlist requires an account

1917
  • 60 minutes
  • 7 days a week
  • No refund

Cologne: Roman History Self-Guided Audio Guide Walking Tour

Travel 2,000 years into the past on a self-guided walking tour of Roman Cologne, founded by Emperor Augustus himself. The city’s first 500 years of occupation by the Romans permanently shaped Cologne. On this audio guide tour, see the remnants of this ancient city that are hidden in plain sight.

Begin the journey in front of the Kreuzblume beside the Cologne Cathedral, where you’ll hear about the city’s old northern gate. Along the way, check out original Roman stairs, and learn how to spot the celebrated Roman soldiers, Marsilius and Agrippa, on the Gürzenich Köln’s imposing Gothic facade.

The audio guide will point out the Great St Martin Church which was built in the Middle Ages on the foundations of a Roman warehouse in the former Roman temple district, St Maria im Kapitol.

Find out why Die Römische Hafenstraße in Köln (a Roman harbor road) was imperfectly rebuilt in Kurt Hackenberg Platz and locate the largest Roman palace in the Rhineland.

Hear about an ancient Roman sewer that survived wars, floods, and the industrial revolution, but might soon succumb to German fire protection regulations. Walk down one of the oldest continuously used roads in an urban center north of the Alps.

Peer through the window of the Roman-Germanic Museum to see one of the world’s largest and best-preserved Roman mosaics. Find an archaeological gem inside a metro station and learn what the 1969 moon landing has to do with the ancient Romans in Cologne.

By the end of the tour, you’ll also know why the Romans founded a city so far from their home, and where to find remnants of their walls in places you may never expect. The walk through the ages comes to an end near the Ubii Monument, the oldest stone tower in Germany.

Start location

The tour begins right in front of Cologne Cathedral in front of the main gate. Look out for the Kreuzblume, the big stone monument that stands in front of the Cathedral next to the stairs to Cologne Cathedral square.
Google Map

Highlights
  • Travel back in time to the era of the Romans as they lived in the city of Cologne
  • Hear interesting insights from producer Willem Fromm, a historian and podcaster
  • Walk the whole ancient city within 90 minutes or linger at stops along the way
  • Get unlimited use before your booked date or use the virtual tour option at home
  • Find out how the first 500 years of Roman occupation permanently shaped the city
Map

4 travellers are considering this tour right now!

+49 7667 4269541 office@rhein-kultour-touristik.com
deen

Audio-Guide Köln

0
Preis
Ab€8.33

Jetzt Kaufen

Auf die Wunschliste

Bitte legen Sie ein Konto an, um eine Wunschliste zu erstellen

2255
  • 60 minuten
  • 7 Tage
  • Keine Rückerstattung

Audio-Guide Köln durch Römische Geschichte 

 

Reise mit dem Audio-Guide Köln 2.000 Jahre in die Vergangenheit bei einem selbstgeführten Rundgang durch das römische Köln, das von Kaiser Augustus selbst gegründet wurde. Die ersten 500 Jahre der römischen Besetzung der Stadt haben Köln nachhaltig geprägt. Auf dieser Audioguide-Tour siehst du die Überreste dieser antiken Stadt, die im Verborgenen liegen.

Die Reise beginnt vor der Kreuzblume neben dem Kölner Dom, wo du etwas über das alte Nordtor der Stadt erfährst. Auf dem Weg dorthin kannst du originale römische Treppen sehen und lernen, wie man die berühmten römischen Soldaten Marsilius und Agrippa an der imposanten gotischen Fassade des Gürzenich Kölns erkennt.

Der Audio-Guide Kölnweist auf die Große Martinskirche hin, die im Mittelalter auf den Fundamenten eines römischen Lagerhauses im ehemaligen römischen Tempelbezirk St. Maria im Kapitol errichtet wurde.

Finde heraus, warum die Römische Hafenstraße in Köln am Kurt-Hackenberg-Platz nur unvollkommen wieder aufgebaut wurde und finde den größten römischen Palast im Rheinland.

Höre von einem alten römischen Abwasserkanal, der Kriege, Überschwemmungen und die industrielle Revolution überlebt hat, aber bald den deutschen Brandschutzbestimmungen zum Opfer fallen könnte. Gehe eine der ältesten durchgehend genutzten Straßen in einem städtischen Zentrum nördlich der Alpen entlang.

Schaue durch das Fenster des Römisch-Germanischen Museums, um eines der größten und am besten erhaltenen römischen Mosaike der Welt zu sehen. Finde ein archäologisches Kleinod in einer U-Bahn-Station und erfahre, was die Mondlandung 1969 mit den alten Römern in Köln zu tun hat.

Am Ende der Tour wirst du auch wissen, warum die Römer eine Stadt so weit von ihrer Heimat entfernt gegründet haben und wo du Überreste ihrer Mauern an Orten findest, die du vielleicht nie erwartet hättest. Der Spaziergang durch die Jahrhunderte endet in der Nähe des Ubii-Denkmals, dem ältesten Steinturm Deutschlands.

Startpunkt

Die Tour beginnt direkt vor dem Kölner Dom, vor dem Haupttor. Halte Ausschau nach der Kreuzblume, dem großen Steinmonument, das vor dem Dom neben der Treppe zum Kölner Domplatz steht.

Google Map

Highlights
  • Reise zurück in die Zeit der Römer, wie sie in der Stadt Köln lebten
  • Höre interessante Einblicke vom Produzenten Willem Fromm, einem Historiker und Podcaster
  • Erkunde die gesamte Altstadt innerhalb von 90 Minuten oder verweile an den Stationen entlang des Weges
  • Nutze das Angebot unbegrenzt vor deinem gebuchten Termin oder nutze die Option der virtuellen Tour zu Hause
  • Finde heraus, wie die ersten 500 Jahre der römischen Besatzung die Stadt dauerhaft geprägt haben
Karte